How to enter the New Zealand Biosecurity Awards

What you need to do

Before you start completing the online entry form:

Get ready to tell your biosecurity story! Entries for the 2021 New Zealand Biosecurity Awards are open now until 31 July.

Te Rawhiti 3B2 Ahu Whenua Trust young team member holding a kiwi
Young member of the Nga Kaitiaki o Ipipiri Herenga Waaka project holding a kiwi. Te Rawhiti 3B2 Ahu Whenua Trust was the 2020 Biosecurity Te Tira Whakamātaki Māori Award winner.

Step-by-step on how to enter

Step 1: Choose your category

Before you start, choose your Award category. Check your eligibility for the category.

There are nine Award categories in 2021. All category winners are eligible for the New Zealand Biosecurity Supreme Award.

  1. Community Award
  2. Māori Award
  3. Kura (School) Award
  4. GIA Industry Award
  5. Eagle Technology Local and Central Government Award
  6. Bioprotection Aotearoa Science Award
  7. Mondiale VGL Innovation Award
  8. AsureQuality Emerging Leader Award
  9. Minister's Biosecurity Award


Find out more categories and criteria

Step 2: Draft your entry

We recommend you draft and save your entry in a Word document before you fill in the online form. This prevents losing your work before you complete your entry.

Category 1 to 7 requirements

All applications for categories 1 to 7 must be supported by:

  • a summary of your project, entry, or organisation of no more than 200 words
  • a detailed description and background on your project, work, or contribution that supports New Zealand in maintaining a world-leading biosecurity system. You should demonstrate the attributes and achievements outlined in the specific category criteria and be no more than 2000 words.
  • your view on why the individual, group, project, or organisation deserves to be recognised and how you are supporting biosecurity in New Zealand. This should be no more than 200 words.*

If in addition you want to be considered for the New Zealand Biosecurity Mondiale VGL Innovation Award then you need to include:

  • an outline of how innovation contributed to the success of a project, programme, protocol, or one-off event. This should demonstrate the attributes and achievements outlined in the specific category criteria and be no more than 500 words.

Applications can be made by individuals, groups, or communities who are actively, or have been, carrying out projects or work within the past 18 months in support of:

  • biosecurity in New Zealand
  • the future of New Zealand’s biosecurity system.

Category 8 and 9 requirements

All nominations for the New Zealand Biosecurity AsureQuality Emerging Leader Award and the Minister’s Biosecurity Award must be supported by:

  • a summary of why this person should be recognised for their outstanding contribution to biosecurity in New Zealand, and
  • their key achievements.

Summaries should not exceed 1500 words.

* This information may be used in marketing material for the Awards.

Step 3: Enter online

When you’re happy with your draft entry, copy and paste from your Word document into the online entry form. Entries open on Friday 2 July 2021.

Only Award finalists need to submit imagery but you are able to send supplementary documents via email:

You’ll have until 5:00pm (NZST) on Saturday 31 July 2021 to complete your entry. Judging begins soon after, so we can’t accept late entries.


Why enter

Why enter

Find out more about the opportunity

Categories and criteria

Categories and criteria

Learn more about the Award categories and entry criteria

Previous winners and finalists

Previous winners and finalists

Check out their stories and project summaries

Important dates

Friday 2 July 2021: Entries open

Saturday 31 July 2021: Entries close

  • You have until 5:00pm (NZST) to complete and submit your online entry form.

Friday 1 October 2021: Finalists announced and dinner tickets on sale

  • We’ll be ready to share the good news, with finalists being announced for each Award, with the exception of the Minister’s Biosecurity Award. Imagery to support your entry will be called for once finalists have been announced.

Monday 1 November 2021: Winners announced at the Awards dinner in Auckland

  • The New Zealand Biosecurity Awards culminates with a dinner in Auckland on Monday 1 November 2021. Finalists will be recognised, winners announced and the recipient of the coveted New Zealand Biosecurity Supreme Award revealed.
COMMUNITY AWARD Pirongia Te Aroaro O Kahu Restoration Society 720 x 400
Pirongia Te Aroaro O Kahu Restoration Society - 2018 Biosecurity Community Award winner

Your application will be assessed by the New Zealand Biosecurity Awards 2021 judging panel. This panel is made up of biosecurity specialists and representatives from industry, government, iwi, and community.

Enter the Awards now
Wink the dog next to some velvet lead hes found 1200 x 720


Beware velvetleaf – and the dog sniffing it out

Wink the dog is being trained to find a serious cropping weed called velvetleaf.

Alby Marsh with Reon Tuanau visiting Mauao the Mount 1200 x 720


Alby Marsh – bringing people together to fight myrtle rust

Alby Marsh has spent his life building relationships. Now he is working with researchers and communities to build relationships and solutions that will help in the fight against myrtle rust.

Tame Malcolm 1200 x 720


Thomas (Tame) Malcolm - Biosecurity is in his nature

From culling wild goats to decimating invasive river weed, one Kiwi is combining his passion for the land with hard graft and te ao Māori.