Biosecurity Awards

SmallNZBA logo2

Calling all biosecurity champions

It takes all of us to protect what we've got but there are a few champions worth celebrating.

The New Zealand Biosecurity Awards recognise and celebrate outstanding contributions to protecting our country. It's our way of celebrating people and organisations across New Zealand who are contributing to New Zealand's biosecurity – in our communities, businesses, iwi and hapū, universities and in government.

2019 finalists announced

The 25 finalists of the 2019 New Zealand Biosecurity Awards were announced on 24 September. 

Winners will be announced at the awards' dinner in Auckland on 4 November.

All category winners are eligible for the New Zealand Biosecurity Supreme Award, which will be presented on 4 November.

Tickets for the awards' dinner can be purchased online.


Department of Conservation Community Pihinga Award for new projects/initiatives

  • Aorere College, Year 10 Mātauranga Māori class for the project: Understanding rusts - fungal invaders of Aotearoa
  • Field trial: Ship rat control using modified 'Philproof' bait stations
  • Tauranga Moana Biosecurity Capital
  • Te Arawa Lakes Trust for the project: Te Arawa Catfish Killas

Department of Conservation Community Kahiwi Award for established projects/initiatives

  • Guardians of the Bay of Islands for the project: Project Island Song
  • Polhill Protectors for the project: Being neighbourly with our natives
  • Te Roroa Commercial Development Company for the Kauri Dieback Response Plan

Te Puni Kōkiri Māori Award

  • Ngāti Hauā Mahi Trust for the project: Tiaki Manaakitia te Tangata, Tiaki Manaakitia te Taiao
  • Rakiura Titi Islands Administering Body for the project: Rakiura Titi Islands Biosecurity Project
  • Te Roroa Commercial Development Company for the Kauri Dieback Response Plan

GIA Industry Award

  • Automotive Technologies Ltd for its heat treatment project
  • KiwiNet for its project: KiwiNet geared up to fight threats
  • Livestock Improvement Corporation for the project: Helping to protect the national herd from Mycoplasma bovis

Eagle Technology Local and Central Government Award

  • Auckland Council for its Biosecurity Team
  • Environment Canterbury (Chatham Islands) for Chatham Islands Biosecurity
  • Wellington City Council for Wildlife Safe Wellington

Bio-Protection Research Centre Science Award

  • Cawthron Institute Molecular tools for the project: Aquatic pest detection
  • Myrtle Rust Research Consortium for the project: Ngā taonga - Safeguarding the mauri of myrtles and dependent ecosystems
  • SCION - HTHF Research Programme Healthy Trees, Healthy Future for the project: Enabling technologies to combat Phytophthora disease

Mondiale Innovation Award

  • Automotive Technologies Ltd for its heat treatment project
  • Livestock Improvement Corporation for its project: Helping to protect the national herd from Mycoplasma bovis
  • Omori Kuratau Pest Management Group 

AsureQuality Emerging Leader Award

  • Helen Payn of Land Information New Zealand
  • Kane McElrea of Northland Regional Council
  • Marion Schoof of AgResearch


Read each of the project summaries and nominations on 2019 finalists.

For more information on the categories, see the entry criteria and entry guidelines.


Want more information about the Awards?

Contact us: